top of page

Anonymous, Emotions on Trauma


Anonymous

Emotions on Trauma, 2020

Mixed Media, 6 7/8" x 10"


This collage uses images and words to illustrate the intense daily distress I've experienced as a survivor. There are certain emotions that are obviously highlighted more than others-, particularly disgust. The amount of disgust and shame I feel towards myself as a person and towards my body every day is undescribable, but I hope this piece comes close to making it clear. These emotions are present throughout my days and come out in nearly unbearable waves when experiencing PTSD symptoms such as nightmares, flashbacks, or body memories. The "Gross! Ew!" seen on the silhouette is directed both at the emotions (this is how I feel about them- I hate feeling this way and often think the emotions themselves are gross) and at myself. I constantly feel my skin crawling, visceral representation of how gross I feel in my body and as a person in general. These feelings are strong and distressing, and I feel that many people are unable to wrap their minds around how distressing it is to be in the brain of a survivor- this is what it's like for me.


35 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page